Adventures in Oz

Just another WordPress.com site

Vivid Sydney 2012

Vivid Sydney is currently underway!  I went last week with the girls and Saturday night with Reggie…it’s a must see and really brings out the best of Sydney.  The best way to describe it is a light festival…or I could let the pictures do the talking!  We all met up at a colleague’s leaving drinks, she is headed on secondment to NYC!, so we had to send her off right!  After a few hours of drinking we headed for McDonald’s AND Max Brenners (don’t judge us) before heading to see the lights (and walk off all the fatness!).

Vivid is set up around the Rocks, Circular Quay and the Opera House.  It really is one of the highlights during winter. 

I didn’t realise you could actually get in this fish thing (pictured right), pedal and it would light up.  I went with Reggie the following weekend and it was gone!!!

I think I got lucky on both days I ventured out because it didn’t rain!  This weekend was the Queen’s birthday (another long weekend) and it rained every day/night with the exception of the one we decided to go to Vivid!

This is the Custom’s House and one of my favorites!  Looking at these lights is like looking at HD TV!!

The next star of the show was the Opera House.  I know some will argue the Opera House’s lights were not as good as last year but I enjoyed watching the woman on the Opera House…she looks myseterious.

It was SO hard to get a good picture of the Opera House, I really need to read the manual on my camera and learn how to use the settings …a tripod wouldn’t hurt either!

This is the Museum of Contemporary Art and one of Reggie’s favorites based on the number of pictures he took! 😉

It was PACKED in the city tonight, it seems everyone was taking advantage of the rain free day (these have been few and far between lately).  There are a number of things that I love about Sydney but pretty high on the list is the number of festivals and how I safe I feel while attending them.  I don’t have to worry about my purse, fights, violence or anything.  I really wish I could say the same thing about most US cities.

This is my first time seeing the Sea Shepherd docked.  This is a not for profit organisation who hunt those who illegally hunt and kill whales.  It is whale season so it makes sense that they were docked and taking donations.

June 11, 2012 Posted by | regular | 2 Comments